Lessons in the kitchen

I am a great fan of cooking. It is my ‘me’ time and also my creative outlet. Anyone who looks at me can easily make out that I love food and eat most of what I cook myself 😛 . I also have a philosophical bent, hence the post, of the life lessons you learn in the kitchen.

1. Leave the soup pot on , it will take time to cook. You need to give time for life to play out. You need to keep things on simmer for all the flavors to come together. Life will take time, for all the kinks to iron out , for all the insecurities to fall away, for you to look at what you really are and what you can do.

2. If it is burnt, throw it out. You cant eat a burnt cake. You need to throw out a lot of things in your life , you need to cut ties if it not working out. Hey if it is not working, it is not working. Start again.

3. If something tastes great, invite your friends over. Its important to share. It may just be a small thing but it is important to share something with the people you love .It is not about the validation it is about keeping ties and forging new ties.

4. Presentation, Presentation, Presentation. This statement is like what my professors would make. But, yes just like how you present your food, how to present yourself says a lot about you.

 

5.Know when to switch the gas off.  You just cant afford to overdo something. You need to put a limit on everything. You are not being stingy or over cautious its just that if you over do something, sometimes, the entire experience turns foul.

6. Clean the dishes immediately. Deal with something tedious immediately.It is just good for your soul. Something you can just check off your list.

7. Try making a dessert. Sweets are amazingly tricky, but once you get something right, they are the most delicious thing on your menu. Try something complicated and tricky once in a while, if done right you will feel great. All that effort is worth it.

8. Enjoy your time in the kitchen. It is important to enjoy what you are doing otherwise it is just not worth doing it, even if it is for survival.

 

About readingbythewindowsill
Avid reader,a passably good writer, possess a sense of adventure , a great cook , an enthusiastic traveler, an have an innate sense of curiosity that needs to be answered - I think all this describes me perfectly .

2 Responses to Lessons in the kitchen

  1. A.D!! says:

    haha this is an interesting post 🙂 I like how you’ve compared things and made a post.
    http://nomadfashionista.wordpress.com/

  2. Sakshi Nanda says:

    I would say not just your kitchen, but your blog is your “creative outlet” too. Particularly liked 5.

Leave a comment