Things I will remember my parents by …

It is difficult to remember all of your childhood. But there are a enduring traits of the most important people in my life that I wish to remember them by. Children often are a reflection of their upbringing and absorb the personality traits rather than the actual words of their parents. I had a reasonably happy childhood thanks to my parents and there are a few things I will always remember my parents by,

They are simple people : My parents are simple people. They never pretended to be something they are not and always have been honest to what they believe in. That is a tremendous thing in this world where everyone is out to prove that they are someone else.

They always worked as a unit : We had a few very tough times. But I have always seen them work together as a team and weather all the storms together almost always without help. That says a lot about them.

They are very successful as individuals : The good thing about both of them is that they are very successful as individuals, they worked very hard to be where they are and excel in what ever they did.

They are fiercely independent: My parents are senior citizens and I have never seen them falter ever. They have always done their own work, may it be cleaning , cooking , shopping or health care anything. It is admirable when you can see that it is not easy.

They are very thrifty and very smart about money : This is a very important part of who they are. They both have known huge personal financial crisis which made them very smart about money. My mother’s philosophy is save first, spend later. Another gem is , spend on yourself do not deprive yourself of anything, but if you spend in one place be thrifty somewhere else. They are independent now only because of their smart money moves.

They love me : Love is a hard emotion to convey. Kisses, hugs and buying stuff does not convey enough. The little things do , and I always have felt that from them.

It is not easy being parents (now, first hand experience). But they have tried very hard to be good role models and I hope to be the same to my daughter.

About readingbythewindowsill
Avid reader,a passably good writer, possess a sense of adventure , a great cook , an enthusiastic traveler, an have an innate sense of curiosity that needs to be answered - I think all this describes me perfectly .

Leave a comment